PCCSD#259 Welcome New Board Member

For Immediate Release 

April 19, 2023

Press Release

Pembroke Community Consolidated School District #259 Welcomes A New Board Member 

Hopkins Park, Illinois - Pembroke Community Consolidated School District #259 is pleased to welcome a new School Board member, Ms. Mihesha Gibbs, following the April 4th, 2023, elections. Along with Mr. Ira Sneed, Mrs. Cleatie Butler, and Mr. Eurelius Ross, Ms. Gibbs was elected to the Board, replacing Mr. Fredrick Carter, who has served two terms and is thanked for his service.

Ms. Gibbs is not only a former student of Pembroke CCSD #259 but also a parent of a student within the district. She is a former District #259 employee and has worked in Transportation Management for the Minneapolis, MN school system, where she gained valuable experience. Ms. Gibbs has expressed her hope to bring new perspectives and ideas to the Board, stating "I am honored to serve the Pembroke community and am committed to working towards providing the best educational experience for our students." 

Dr. Nicole Terrell-Smith, Superintendent of Pembroke CCSD #259, expressed her gratitude to Ms. Gibbs and the other Board members for their commitment to the success of the district. "The School Board plays a crucial role in ensuring our students receive an exceptional education, and I have no doubt that Ms. Gibbs will contribute significantly to our mission." Ms. Gibbs will officially take the oath of office and be seated on Wednesday, May 10th, 2023 at 6:00 pm at the School Board Meeting, which will take place at Lorenzo R. Smith Elementary School, located at 4120 S. Wheeler Rd, Hopkins Park, IL 60944.